Retail in Asia

In People

BMW Group Asia names new managing director

P90252088-paul-de-courtois-03-2017-2247px - retail in asia

BMW Group Asia has a new managing director. Paul de Courtois will take up the post with effect from 1 May 2017.

Prior to his new appointment, de Courtois served as the director general of BMW Group Poland for the last four years. He has been working with the BMW Group since 1997 and started his career at BMW Group France in the sales department.

He then worked at BMW Group headquarters in Munich, Germany as regional director responsible for importers from Africa and the Caribbean. From 2011-2013, he successfully held the position of chief executive of BMW Group Hungary before joining BMW Group Poland. He replaces Axel Pannes who joined BMW Group Asia as managing director in November 2014.

SEE ALSO: Furla appoints Alberto Camerlongo as Group CEO

The shift in management comes in the midst of the BMW Asia creative account being up for grabs. According to sources, handling the pitch for the APAC market is pitch consultant R3. Marketing has reached out to R3 for a comment.

Ian Robertson, member of the board of management of BMW AG, Sales and Brand BMW, Aftersales BMW Group said: “We are pleased to appoint Paul de Courtois as the new managing director of BMW Group Asia. His experience in leading various National Sales Companies and importer markets globally will definitely help further grow and strengthen our existing presence in East Asia.”

“I would also like to take this opportunity to thank Axel Pannes for his great contribution over the past few years. In addition to growing the business, under his leadership we have also strengthened our relationships with dealers in the region. His personal focus on people development has also resulted in an increased number of local talent achieving international roles, something we aim to continue in this market,” he added.

BMW Group Asia comprises of 13 markets, including; Singapore, Indonesia, Vietnam, Philippines, Sri Lanka, Brunei, Bangladesh, Guam, New Caledonia, Tahiti, Cambodia, Laos, and Myanmar.