Retail in Asia

In Markets

Hainan allows visa-free entry for individual tourists from 59 countries

Individual travellers from 59 countries can now travel visa-free to Hainan directly from overseas.

Any visitor from one of those countries (see full list below) simply needs to fill in an entry application upon arrival. They can then stay for 30 days.

SEE ALSO: Lotte Duty Free opens Melbourne Airport store

Such passengers may travel from or through Hong Kong or any other place outside Mainland China (such as Singapore) that has direct flights to Hainan.

Besides boosting foreign leisure tourism to Hainan, the news will also be welcomed by those doing business on the island province (notably suppliers to the offshore duty free sector).

Announcing the news, Hainan Provincial Bureau of International Economic Development (Hainan IEDB) global media officer and vice director Ruslan Tulenov said, “We are looking forward to receiving more international business partners and tourists on this paradise island.

“Citizens of 59 countries are now eligible for 30 days of visa-free travel to the province of Hainan. This policy was previously only applicable to tour groups but has now been expanded to individual travel as well.”

SEE ALSO: Armani flagship beauty store opens at CDF Haikou complex

List of countries eligible for visa-free entry to Hainan

Albania, Argentina, Australia, Austria, Belarus, Belgium, Bosnia-Herzegovina, Brazil, Brunei, Bulgaria, Canada, Chile, Croatia, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Holland, Hungary, Iceland, Indonesia, Ireland, Italy, Japan, Kazakhstan, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Macedonia, Malaysia, Malta, Mexico, Monaco, Montenegro, New Zealand, Norway, Philippines, Poland, Portugal, Qatar, Romania, Russia, Serbia, Singapore, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, South Korea, Sweden, Switzerland, Thailand, the UAE, the USA, the UK, Ukraine.