Retail in Asia

In Shops

ASEAN-6 zero tariffs take effect immediately

Tariffs on 7,881 goods traded between six ASEAN founding nations were lifted Friday, signalling better economic prospects for producers and consumers alike.

The elimination of tariffs by Indonesia, Brunei, Malaysia, the Philippines, Singapore and Thailand is a step toward an integrated ASEAN economy, with the remaining countries – Cambodia, Laos, Myanmar and Vietnam – set to join in 2015.